Image: Shutterstock

Eleven candidates fulfilled election requirements and qualified by the noon deadline today for the 2020 City Commission municipal election for the three City Commission district seats.

Candidate qualifying information is available online via the Office of the City Auditor and Clerk webpage. The following individuals qualified:

District 1

Kyle Scott Battie

Willie Charles Shaw

District 2

Liz Alpert
Joe Barbetta
Martin Hyde
Don Patterson
Terry Turner
Jerry Wells

District 3

Erik ā€œEā€ Arroyo
Daniel A Clermont
Rob Grant

With more than two candidates qualifying for District 2 and District 3, a first election for those seats will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 18. The two candidates in each district receiving the highest number of votes will advance to the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 3, along with the candidates for District 1. With just two candidates in District 1, a first election will not be held for that seat. The candidate in each district receiving a majority of votes on Nov. 3 will be sworn into office Friday, Nov. 6, to serve a four-year term.

Early voting for the first election will be held Aug. 8-16 from 8:30 a.m-4:30 p.m. daily, with locations to be announced. For more information on early voting, contact the Sarasota County Supervisor of Elections Office at (941) 861-8600 or visit

Show Comments