Health News

SMH Venice Announces Inaugural Team of Physician Leaders

The hospital is preparing to open this month.

By Staff November 1, 2021

A rendering of Sarasota Memorial Hospital's Venice campus.

A rendering of Sarasota Memorial Hospital's Venice campus.

Sarasota Memorial Hospital Venice has announced its inaugural team of physician leaders. The 13 physicians selected to serve on the medical executive committee for Sarasota Memorial Hospital Venice represent diverse specialties in both the Sarasota and Venice community. As the hospital prepares to open this month, the physician leaders will serve a critical role in overseeing patient safety and the professional performance of the medical staff at the Venice hospital.

Sarasota Memorial Health Care System chief medical officer Dr. James Fiorica will oversee the medical staffs at both the Sarasota and Venice campuses, with the assistance of SMH Sarasota associate chief medical officer Dr. Joseph Seaman and SMH Venice associate chief medical officer Dr. Kyle Garner.

The current SMH Venice physician leadership team includes the following:

Chief of staff: Dr. Christopher L. Jefferson (family medicine)                 

Secretary/treasurer: Dr. Noel A. Maun (hematology/oncology)

Department of Medicine

Chair: Dr. Heidi R. Goedicke (pulmonary critical care) 

Chair elect: Dr. Ravi Kondapalli (gastroenterology)

Department of Surgery

Chair: Dr. Issam A. Halaby (general surgery)

Chair elect: Dr. Gregory M. Lomas (urology)

Department of Special Services

Chair: Dr. Ryan S. Snitowsky (emergency medicine)

Chair elect: Dr. Heitor Okanobo (diagnostic radiology)

Department of Women & Children

Chair: Dr. Susan R. Mihm (pediatric general medicine)

Chair elect: Dr. Yusif Addae (obstetrics/gynecology)

At-Large Members

Dr. Lorraine S. Cho-Chung-Hing (nephrology)

Dr. Mary L. vonWaldner (anesthesiology)

Dr. John W. Wassenaar (internal medicine/pediatrics)

Show Comments