Early Voting in Sarasota City Commission Race Ends Saturday

Early voting in the Sarasota City Commission race runs 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Saturday, March 11.

By staff March 9, 2017

Vote qe7o8t

Image: Shutterstock

Early voting in the Sarasota City Commission race began Monday and continues from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Saturday, March 11, at the Sarasota County Supervisor of Elections' Sarasota office, 101 S. Washington Blvd., Sarasota; at the supervisor's North Port office, 13640 Tamiami Trail, North Port; and at Longboat Key Town Hall, 501 Bay Isles Road, Longboat Key. There are two at-large City Commission seats up for grabs; qualified candidates are Jen Ahearn-Koch, Fredd "Glossie" Atkins, Hagen Brody, incumbent City Commissioner Susan Chapman, Patrick Gannon, Martin Hyde, Mikael Sandstrom and Matt Sperling.

Election day itself is Tuesday, March 14. If two candidates receive more than 50 percent of the vote on March 14, they will both win a seat on the commission. If only one candidate wins 50 percent, that candidate is installed while the remaining top two vote getters compete in a second round of voting that ends Tuesday, May 9. If no candidate wins a majority on March 14, then the top three vote getters compete for the top two slots on May 9.

Municipal elections are also underway in North Port and Longboat Key.

Filed under
Show Comments