Fast Track

Realize Bradenton's Johnette Isham Announces Retirement

Plus, Sarasota County hires a new fire chief and La Musica names pianist and educator Wu Han its new artistic director.

By Staff October 17, 2022

Johnette Isham

Johnette Isham


Realize Bradenton executive director Johnette Isham has announced her retirement, effective at the end of October 2022. Isham created the nonprofit organization in 2009, and has served as executive director since then. Karen Corbin, current Realize Bradenton director of community partnerships, will assume the role upon Isham's departure.

New Hires and Appointments

Sarasota County has named David Rathbun as the fire department’s next fire chief following a nationwide search. Rathburn served at Orange County Fire Rescue for 30 years.

La Musica, Sarasota’s chamber music festival, has named Wu Han—pianist, educator and cultural entrepreneur—as artistic director. She replaces Bruno Giuranna, artistic director and co-founder, who was recently named artistic director emeritus. Currently artistic co-director of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and [email protected], she also serves as artistic director for Wolf Trap’s Chamber Music in the Barn series and for Palm Beach’s Society of the Four Arts.

Hunter Norton, of Sarasota, has been appointed to the Twelfth Judicial Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission. Norton is a Partner at Shumaker, Loop and Kendrick, LLP. He received his bachelor’s degree from Regents College and his law degree from the University of Miami. Norton is reappointed from a list of nominees recommended by the Florida Bar for a term ending July 1, 2026. 

The Community Foundation of Sarasota County has announced the appointment of Tracey McIntosh as vice-president of finance and Jamie Kattrein as director of community impact.  

Syprett Meshad, P.A., has expanded its legal team with the addition of associate attorney Nicholas Bocci. Bocci’s practice covers family law, criminal law and defense, and personal injury. Prior to joining Syprett Meshad, Bocci was an assistant state attorney in the 12th Judicial Circuit State Attorney’s Office.

The Safe Children Coalition has recently hired Robin Jensen as a new-vice president of child welfare. Jensen joins April Ranceful—another recent vice-president hire—in performing duties associated with this position for the community-based care agency, which include providing leadership, supervision and management to the community-based care (CBC) operations in Circuit 12 (Sarasota, Manatee and DeSoto counties).

Ian Black Real Estate has hired Sofiia Bevzenko as property accounting assistant. In this newly created role, Bevzenko will provide support to the financial services department, including assisting with bookkeeping, accounts payable and accounts receivable duties.

Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe has announced its 2022-2023 board of trustees. New to the board this year are Nancy Flanagan, Kimberly Parris, Lee Rainer, Dr. Donald Reaves and Asa Thomas-Harris. They will join chair Doris A. Johnson and trustees Cheryl Anderson (treasurer), Ali Bahaj, Chris Caswell (secretary), Kitty Cranor, Michael Gardiner, Sy Goldblatt, Michele Hooper, Penelope Kingman, Dr. John Maupin, Howard Millman, Dr. Randall Morgan, Marian Moss (vice-chair), Mona Rankin, Dona Scott and Eva Slane.


Jennifer Linzy, the public information officer for the Manatee County Clerk of the Circuit Court & Comptroller, has earned her professional accreditation in public relations. In receiving the APR designation, Linzy joins the more than 5,000 professionals nationally who represent a group of public relations professionals committed to practicing with exemplary ethical standards.


The Barancik Foundation recently named five Ripple Effect Teacher Awards winners in partnership with Sarasota County Schools in memory of the late Margery Barancik.  The semi-annual prize acknowledges five outstanding teachers on Charles Barancik’s birthday in May and five on Margery’s birthday in September.  Each teacher recognized for their positive impact on their students’ lives is awarded $5,000 to spend on professional development experiences, material, and equipment for their classrooms. The fall awardees are Amy Baldwin, Gocio Elementary; Xiomara Dearing, Ashton Elementary; Dr. Carmen Larson, Sarasota Middle School; Katie Leworthy, Atwater Elementary; and Jamie Davidson, Woodland Middle School.

The Economic Development Corporation of Sarasota County, in collaboration with Ringling College of Art and Design, has announced the three finalists for its Seventh Annual Innovation by Creative Design Award. They are S-One Holdings Corporations, EcoRover Chairs and Cruise Car Inc.

Show Comments