Seven Local Educators Given Congressional Teacher Awards

Three teachers in Sarasota County and three in Manatee County were recognized.

By Staff April 20, 2021

Image: Shutterstock

Seven teachers in Florida’s 16th Congressional District were chosen for this year's Congressional Teacher Awards, including three in Manatee County and three in Sarasota County. Established by Rep. Vern Buchanan in 2014, the annual awards recognize local teachers for outstanding achievements on behalf of students.

This year’s award recipients include Tammy Merrell (Samoset Elementary School), Carol Mays Davis (Lincoln Memorial Academy), Jeremiah Bowman (Braden River High School), Kari Jonson (Fruitville Elementary School), Judi Robson (Sarasota Middle School) and Jeanette Marks (Sarasota Military Academy). Timothy Mays received recognition for his work at East Bay Senior High School in Hillsborough County.

Filed under
Show Comments