Buchanan Re-Elected; Battie, Alpert and Arroyo Win Sarasota City Commission Seats

The three new Sarasota city commissioners-elect will be sworn in on Friday.

By Staff November 4, 2020

Kyle Scott Battie, Liz Alpert and Erik “E” Arroyo have been elected to serve four-year terms on the Sarasota city commission, based on unofficial results from Tuesday’s general election. The commissioners-elect will be sworn into office at the city commission’s statutory meeting scheduled for noon on Friday, Nov. 6, at City Hall; outgoing vice-mayor Shelli Freeland Eddie and District 1 commissioner Willie Charles Shaw will also be recognized for their years of service.

Additionally, incumbent Republican Rep. Vern Buchanan was re-elected for an eighth term, beating Democratic state Rep. Margaret Good for the District 16 Congressional seat.

Filed under
Show Comments