Fast Track: January 2013

By Hannah Wallace January 1, 2013

Movers, Shakers & Headline Makers

Fasttrack icutoa
Gary Heard; Janet Ginn; Ann Breitinger; Angela Wisdom


Gary Heard, managing director, BMO Private Bank, Sarasota Office.

Bernadette DiPino, chief of police, Sarasota Police Department.

Bruce McDonald, general manager, Hyatt Regency Sarasota.

Janet K. Ginn, chief development officer, Manatee Glens.

Judith A. Sedgeman, initiative adviser, The Patterson Foundation.

Scott Bowlin, director of operations, Anna Maria Oyster Bar.

Michael Greenberg, vice president of building, Neal Communities.

Brice Braithwaite, vice president/credit administration manager, First America Bank.

Emily Potts, community relations specialist, ZIIVAA Marketing Team.

Donn Patchen, director of communications, Sarasota County.

Peter Boers, construction and architectural services bid manager; and Keith Raney, procurement analyst, Sarasota County Procurement Department.

Ann Breitinger, attorney, law firm of Blalock Walters.

Nicholas Gladding, attorney, law firm of Dunlap & Moran, PA.

Elizabeth P. Lowery, attorney, law firm of Williams Parker.

Richard Renninger, chief development officer, First Watch Restaurants.

Richard H. Brown, M.D., chief of staff, Sarasota Memorial Hospital.

Angela Wisdom, sales manager, Taylor Morrison West Florida.

Dick Woodall, director of sales and marketing, Beacon Aviation Insurance Services.

Maribeth Phillips, chief executive officer, Meals on Wheels PLUS of Manatee.

Steve Sabato, director of news and digital content, ABC 7.

Allison Nash, scholarship coordinator, State College of Florida Foundation.



Brian and Debbie Lamb were awarded the Signs Now Project of the Year Award from Wide-Format Imaging for the completion of a successful project with FIT2RUN.

Jonathan Fleece was awarded the Tampa Bay Healthcare Hero of the Year Award (Non-Physicians category) by the Tampa Bay Business Journal.

Travel and Leisure named the Star Fish Company one of the top seafood restaurants in the U.S.

Sarasota Memorial Hospital received a five-star rating from Healthgrades and was listed as one of America’s top 100 hospitals; it also earned a Consumer Choice Award from the National Research Corporation for the 15th consecutive year.

Rhea Chiles was granted the Edgar H. Price Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award from the Manatee County Rural Health Services Foundation.

SMR Farms was selected Tropicana Grower of the Year for the fourth consecutive year.

Terry G. Green received a Gold Award for Whole House Remodel Under $300,000 from Professional Remodeler magazine.

Washington C. Hill, M.D., received the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award from Sarasota Memorial Hospital; and James J. Fox, M.D., J.D., was named the 2012 Physician of the Year.

Cavanaugh & Company manager Bethany B. Carr was elected to the American Institute of CPAs Council.

Justin Powells was elected to the 2012-2013 board of trustees for Forty Carrots Family Center.

The Boys and Girls Clubs of Sarasota County elected Tony Abate as board chair.

Jeanne Corcoran was elected to the board of directors of the Association of Film Commissioners International.

Jonathan Parks Architect received a LEEDership award from the U.S. Green Building Council, Florida Gulf Coast Chapter, for its LEED-certified Gold Palm Avenue parking lot.

Doctors Hospital was named one of the Best Places to Work in Healthcare by Modern Healthcare magazine.

Sage Kamiya a received the Edward A. Meuller Transportation of the Year Award from the Florida Chapter of the Institute of Transportation Engineers.

Crowder Brothers Ace Hardware received the “‘Coolest Hardware Store” award from the Ace Hardware Corporation.

Cannons Marina received the Admiral’s Circle Award from Grady-White Boats for the 14th consecutive year.

Michael J. Wilson was elected to the Van Wezel Foundation board of directors.

Kathy Hargreaves was elected to the Manatee Glens board of directors.

Sperry Van Ness Commercial Advisory Group in Sarasota and Bradenton was named one of the top 20 performing commercial real estate investment firms internationally by Sperry Van Ness International.

Alyssa M. Nohren was elected president of the Sarasota County Bar Association; and Lindsey A. Meshberger was voted president of the Young Lawyers Division.



Game on Nation moved to The HuB Incubator, 1680 Fruitville Road, Sarasota.

Small Engine Repairs opened at 4914 Lena Road, Unit 103, Bradenton.

The Sarasota Florida Blue Center opened at 285 N. Cattlemen Road in the University Town Center, Sarasota.

Big Fish Association Management opened at 5351 Gulf Drive in Holmes Beach.

Martial Arts School of Sarasota opened at 3135 N. Tamiami Trail in Sarasota.

TreeUmph! Adventure Course opened at 21805 S.R. 70 E. in Bradenton.

Woof Gang Bakery and Grooming opened at 8278 Bee Ridge Road, Sarasota.

Veteran Air opened at 5002 Lena Road, No. 106, Bradenton.

Alliance Group Property Management opened services in Sarasota, Manatee and Charlotte counties.

Eat Here opened its third restaurant at 240 Avenida Madera on Siesta Key.

Tender Paws Grooming opened at 316 S. Washington Blvd. in Sarasota.

Alternative Therapy opened at 5801 Braden Run in Bradenton.

McFarland and Associates, Inc. opened at 1800 Second Ave., Suite 880, Sarasota.

Buccaneer Pawn opened at 1750 N. Washington Blvd. in Sarasota.

CruiseOne Travel Agency opened at 6094 14th St. W. in Bradenton.

Filed under
Show Comments